Wednesday, October 16, 2013

Waiting on Wednesday

The Inventor's Secret

Andrea Cremer

336 Pages

Expected Publication: April 22, 2014

In this world, sixteen-year-old Charlotte and her fellow refugees have scraped out an existence on the edge of Britain’s industrial empire. Though they live by the skin of their teeth, they have their health (at least when they can find enough food and avoid the Imperial Labor Gatherers) and each other. When a new exile with no memory of his escape or even his own name seeks shelter in their camp he brings new dangers with him and secrets about the terrible future that awaits all those who have struggled has to live free of the bonds of the empire’s Machineworks.
The Inventor’s Secret is the first book of a YA steampunk series set in an alternate nineteenth-century North America where the Revolutionary War never took place and the British Empire has expanded into a global juggernaut propelled by marvelous and horrible machinery. Perfect for fans of Libba Bray's The Diviners, Cassandra Clare's Clockwork Angel,ScottWesterfeld's Leviathan and Phillip Reeve's Mortal Instruments.
I've been getting really into steampunk lately. This book looks right up my alley.. if only it were April!

2 comments:

  1. I've been seeing this one quite a lot. Seems like I have to add it to my TBR pile. Great Pick! :)

    Waiting on Wednesday

    By the way, we are giving away a signed ARC of Wild Cards by Simone Elkeles on the blog. Make sure to stop by and enter! :)

    Andy @ Owl Always Be Reading

    ReplyDelete
  2. I haven't read a lot of steampunk, and I never finished Andrea Cremer's Nightshade because I wasn't into it...but I think I'll have to give this book a try! The cover is so cool!
    My WoW
    -Rachel

    ReplyDelete